Colorado

So we made it through five states and are halfway through the sixth, which is Kansas. Kansas is potentially the worst state to drive through. I’ve driven cross country about half a dozen times and most times I’ve gone through Kansas. But you have to drive through that state if you want to experience the Rockies in Colorado. I love Colorado. It’s my favorite state in the US and I see myself settling down in Colorado at some point in the future. Colorado is home to 50+ peaks over 14,000 feet; some of the best skiing/snowboarding in the world; incredible hiking, mountain biking, trail running and rock climbing; and essentially everything else an outdoor beauty lover could ever ask for. As the old adage goes, “The winter is why we came, but the summer is why we stayed,” referring to the winter adventure seekers that make pilgrimage to mountain areas in search of perpetual powder days and then discover the breathtaking beauty and endless opportunities found in the spring, summer and autumn months. There is so much to do that I may have to move there ahead of my plan!

One of my best friends that I grew up with in Pennsylvania was from Colorado and he lives there again today. Ever since I was a young lad, my heart was in the West and I remember asking my friend question after question about Colorado. It got to the point where he said to me, “Jon, you can’t ask me anymore questions about Colorado until you actually visit.” So visit I did. It was the summer of 2003 when my dad and I drove from Pennsylvania to Georgia and then onto Colorado and finally Arizona. I spent a week in Colorado Springs and it was the week of my life. The highlight was climbing my first Fourteener, Pikes Peak, with an elevation of 14.110 feet. I’ll never forget that. It made such an impression that I wrote my college admission’s essay about that very experience.

But as much as I love the geography and adventure potential of Colorado, it is the friends I have there that make it my favorite state. I think there is an intangible that people from Colorado possess–an inborn appreciation for the beauty of God’s creation and a desire to explore it.

Here’s to Colorado. May it’s beauty always point us to the One who made it, the Creator of the Heavens and the Earth.

About Jon Hipp

I have a passion for exploring the world and squeezing every last drop out of life: Every moment, every place and every interaction with every person is an adventure. Adventure is probably my favorite word of all time. G.K. Chesterton once wrote, "An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered; an adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered."

Posted on December 22, 2012, in Pensive and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

